The discography of One Direction has little to no appeal to me at all. On the whole it all seemed very forced, calculated and yeah, boring as hell to watch. Like I got that they weren’t meant to appeal to my specific market but other then the accents and pretty faces I really didn’t get the appeal, which perhaps is why I find it so interesting that as solo artist I’m actually able to enjoy and get behind the stuff they’re putting down.

 

 

The latest One Direction man to step out from behind the boy band image and take to the stage as a solo artist is Liam Payne (who coincidentally is the one that I always thought was the best looking). The sound of Strip That Down could not be more removed from the sappy boy band pop of 1D. Liam takes on an entirely new vibe with the fluttering hip hop production and vocal tones that lean in the direction of a Justin Timberlake meets Jason Derulo vibe.

 

Whilst you could perceive the track as that typical post-boyband departure track where you sing about everything that’s not wholesome and marketable to parents the track really seems to be a manifesto of the musician that Payne wants to be in this new era. “You know, I used to be in 1D (now I’m out, free) // People want me for one thing (that’s not me) // I’m not changing, the way, that I (used to be) // I just wanna have fun (and get rowdy,’ Payne croons over the fluttering high-hats, deep rumbling bass with an entirely new and smoother than Santana and Rob Thomas combined.

 

So it’s a new direction for Liam Payne and honestly, I’m loving it. Cannot wait to hear what else Payne has up his sleeve and to see him come into his own as an artist in the time to come.

 

Leave a Reply

