POP HRT FESTIVAL – OR AT LEAST WHAT WE’D DO IF WE WERE RICH

chvr copy copy

Australian Music festivals are pretty shityy lets just get that out of the way first. I mean you look at Australian festivals in terms of lineups, venues, and ticket sales and we suck big time, and the festivals that do happen here have crappy lineups with like two artist who you want to see and maybe about 5 on the lineup who are actually relevant and would make people want to go see them.

That being said I have designed my own festival the “POP HRT MUSIC FESTIVAL” a fantastical hypothetical festival that I would put on if I had money, resources and the know how to pull off a festival. So here’s the brief.

POP HRT MUSIC FESTIVAL

34 ARTSITS | 4 STAGES | 13 HOURS OF LIVE MUSIC

Where would I have this fantastical festival? Well because I’m lazy and I wound’t want to have to travel very far to get to said Festival I would place it in Newcastle on the east coast of Australia.

What genre of music would this Festival feature? Well my dear readers this is where I think most festival promoters go wrong. Most Festivals focus on a certain sound, but I mean I don’t know about you but me as a listener I don’t just listen to one type of sound…. so instead my fantastical festival would feature, Pop, RNB, Alternate, Rock, EDM in a magical marriage in one festival location with the genres split roughly according to the stages.

Ok so then who would you have perform? This is where my delusion gets creepy, I’ve already put through thought into this question and even divided my performers into stages. So here are my stages and artists…

ddr

The Dance Dance Revolution Stage, featuring some of the best DJ’s and Dance stars of now. Named so because this stage is meant to make you dance. Featuring artists such as

  • Elen Levon
  • Bombs Away
  • Dragonette
  • ZEDD
  • Havana Brown
  • Steve Aoki
  • Skrillex

pophrt

The POP HRT Stage, named after the site this stage would feature artist that I follow closely and talk about often on the site as well as other artist I find noteworthy. Featuring artist such as:

  • Soak
  • Kay
  • Avec Sans
  • Porcelain Black
  • Skylar Grey
  • Kate Boy
  • Ballet School
  • Little Daylight
  • Gold Fields
  • HURTS
  • CHVRCHES

girl power

The Girl Power Stage, featuring some of the most kick ass, take no prisoners girls in the music industry at the moment, showing that girls don’t need no man to support them no more. Featuring artist such as:

  • Samantha Jade
  • Collette Carr
  • Natalia Kills
  • Foxes
  • Charli XCX
  • Iggy Azalea
  • Marina & The Diamonds
  • Lorde
  • Ke$ha

app

The Apocalypse stage named so because the artist on this stage are so god damn loud and awesome that if the world was ending this would be the only place you’d want to be. Featuring artist such as:

  • The Kite String Tangle
  • The Neighbourhood
  • The 1975
  • Washington
  • NONONO
  • Panic! At The Disco
  • San Cisco
  • The Pretty Reckless
  • Tegan And Sara

 

Ok so that’s a pretty good lineup. How much would you charge for this? Personally I think Festival prices are a bit steep these days. Like when I look at things I think ok I go to a festival and I only really wanna see like 3 or four artists max really the rest are just there. So with that in mind I think paying anything over $150 is a rip off, but I reckon paying $130 each for a ticket is pretty reasonable.

So yea that’s the type of festival I’d put on… if I ever marry some old guy who’s about to croak take his money and put it all into a festival at least. Hope there’s something there for everyone.

Leave a Reply

