LADY GAGA | ARTPOP

November 8th say the release of the hugely anticipated 3rd studio album from Lady Gaga ARTPOP one of the most talked about albums of 2013. 2013 has been a little bet of a let down with the big name releases so there was a lot riding on this album to show that the big wigs are still capable of fighting in the heavy weight leagues.

ARTPOP is very much an experimental album, it’s a lot less mainstream then her previous releases, and some of the songs don’t seem to have any mainstream appeal at all. So with Gaga going in such a different EDM vibe direction, is this album two years in the making worth the wait? One things for sure ARTPOP is a grower not a shower, the songs at first may seem confronting and different, however if you give the song a chance they start to grow on you and sound a lot better. Check out my track by track 140 characters or less reviews of each song below.

1. AURA
Same as the demo, the chorus sounds flat though. Overall it’s a good starter with a funky EDM beat produce by ZEDD.

2. VENUS
Produced by the Lady herself, this song is a disco inspired party thumper. With some weird and cooky lyrics it’s one of my faves.

3. G.U.Y
Dirty, gritty, orgasmic even is how I would describe this song. It’s got a big driving slutty baseline, it’s the type of song that’ll have you ontop of tables dancing.

4. JEWELS N’ DRUGS FEAT T.I, TOO SHORT AND TWISTA
Gaga tries her hand at a RNB/Hip Hop song with this one. It’s unexpected, it’s unusual and it’s very different. You make up your own mind with this.

5. SEXXX DREAMS
Synths, and stuttering tribal beats in the background, and songs about sex oh my. This is a stand out song from ARTPOP. #whenilayinbeditouchmyselfandthinkofyou

6. MANiCURE
If your a fan of the fun carefree sound from The Fame and The Fame Monster this song is for you and if it’s not a single I may cry. ITS SO DAMN GOOD!

7. DO WHAT YOU WANT FEAT R. KELLY
Not going to lie I stop the song once the first chorus ends cause R.Kelly’s part puts me to sleep. Sorry Gaga. It’s got a good synth line in it though.

8. ARTPOP
Chill wave raver music another unexpected song from Gaga. The title track from the album it’s very relaxed and groovy.

9. SWINE
Probably the most experimental in EDM in terms for Gaga this album. Her vocals seemed strained and it’s probably the biggest miss on the album.

10. DONATELLA
Let me sum it up. I am so fab check it out I’m blonde, I’m skinny, and I’m a little bit of a bitch… This song is fabulous listen to it and fall in love.

11. FASHION!
It’s a piano mixed synth song that just putters along and doesn’t seem to get anywhere. I say skip it cause it’s a bit of a bore.

12. MARY JANE HOLAND
Another dirty, grungy EDM ZEDD song but this time about Weed and alter egos. It’s kinda cool.

13. DOPE
Watch the live performances of this song and I dare you not to cry. It’s emotional and touching and I think I’ll cry just thinking about this piano ballad.

14. GYPSY
Why this song is hiding at the end of the album I do not know when it’s one of the stars of the album. Fun, fresh, fascinating, it’s just G R E A T.

15. APPLAUSE
A great song to end the album on though why it was the lead single I will never know.

So that’s my track by track hope you enjoy my opinions cause I enjoy giving them.

BUY ARTPOP NOW ON ITUNES

Leave a Reply

